Bitter Sweet November

Am gorging an entire packet of Cadbury shots with friends all by my own right now :)November has been bitter sweet- I went through some personal highs and personal lows.Am not going to elaborate what happened this month too much.Diwali, family time,an accident,fights tears and peace with the partner, Calvin and Hobbes,Watsapp,a nomination for team award at work and two blogger awards.That was quite a ride! Proof enough that the blogger world always keeps encouraging newbies is this!!

Image

Happy feet was kind enough to give my second award!!! She does not need an introduction..She is sweet, straight forward and full of life..Her blog reflects that.. I am to list 8 things about myself and 5 written quotes! With thanksgiving just over am gonna list 8 things that am grateful for and them would put up 5 of my favorite quotes.
1. Am thankful for the love and care I have from close ones.My mom,for still caring for me despite the n number of times I am rude to her. My dad, who loves me so much and still knows how to let go. My bro for hero worshiping me despite my many faults. My MIL, for simply putting up with me though I do not conform to her expectations from a bahu. My FIL for being the second father, best friend and counselor. The partner for giving me time and space to grow and ever encouraging me to do stuff and pushing me to realize my potential.
2. Am grateful that the almighty for having blessed close ones and me with food and good health. Is not good health the most taken for granted attribute that a person is endowed with.Many a times I have critically look at my color, hair and tummy. It is high time I learn to be happy that am at least blessed with a fully functional system.Signs of growing up eh ? 😉
3.Am thankful that I am living with the in-laws though in a few dimensions my personal freedom and interests are curtailed. Every decision that I take has to ensure that all in the family are happy and those few which I would like to take but I do not, does not fill me with too much of a regret. We do make choices and when we do that we cannot have it all.The learning curve the past 2 years have been pretty steep for me and most of all I learnt to give love.Today when I see me in the mirror still wearing casual western sans mangalsutra ( something which is not accepted by my liberal Mom & Dad) in a family where there is a traditional MIL I understand that changes have been tough for her as well and the give take has been two way.
4.Am thankful for the friends whom I have not given much attention the past two years. Those who still pick up my call and give me a call back despite the distances we are apart.I think I have made peace with a couple of then who might have felt that I had not been for them in their times of need due to the changes in my life. Now when understanding dawns on both sides and we forgive and talk of old times a warm fuzzy feeling comes up in the heart!
5.Am grateful for good books.My childhood was spent more with books rather than kids of my age. I did play around with cousins, flatmates and schoolmates. But books were best friends and I invariably preferred them to people. A packet potato chips , a really sweet bunch of green bananas, spicy raw mango pickle a Sunday afternoon curled up with a pile of comics and an Enid blyton- Bliss. Reading fiction the way I used to would be a luxury these days.But still there might come a time when old pleasures can be relived.
6.Am grateful to be blessed with lovely people at workplace – a wonderful compassionate manager , a bright technical lead who pushes to bring out the best in me and colleagues who are kind , understanding and ever helpful.
7.Am grateful that at office, am doing work that stimulates the brain,keeps me in touch with the education that i had in college and pays me well. Such combinations are very rare to get and extremely lucky am I this way.
8.Am finally am grateful for modern technology,the alarm that wakes me in morning, the gadgets which helps me play temple run and let out a whoop of joy when I make a new high score , the mobile phone which lets me place a long distance call to a loved one , the internet which keeps me updated with blogs, funky scrap book ideas, funny cartoons and painting ideas, the ipod which soothes me with ghazals after a tough day. We are a very lucky happening generation indeed!

Quotes!! I love quotes and put up a few on sticky notes on the desktop and a few I have in a folder called treasure box in my PC.

1. The reason I got married to the partner!
So it’s not gonna be easy. It’s gonna be really hard. We’re gonna have to work at this every day, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, forever, you and me, every day… – Ryan Gosling, The Notebook

2.I call this quote the guidelines for my life
To love. To be loved. To never forget your own insignificance. To never get used to the unspeakable violence and the vulgar disparity of life around you. To seek joy in the saddest places. To pursue beauty to its lair. To never simplify what is complicated or complicate what is simple. To respect strength, never power. Above all, to watch. To try and understand. To never look away. And never, never to forget.-Arundathi Roy

3.What pushes me back to action on those lazy days
Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence.
Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent.
Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb.
Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts.
Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.
Few things are impossible to diligence and skill. Great works are performed not by strength, but perseverance.-Calvin Coolidge.

4.What I remind my negative emotions sometimes overwhelm me:
It will make more sense in years to come, just be an observer, not a reactor, to your emotions. Most people do not know that it’s their emotions that are doing the thinking. Your emotions are your emotions, but you have got to learn to do your own thinking-Robert T. Kiyosaki

5.What I observe when I postmortem a tough phase of life:
Nothing in life how well or poorly lived is wiser than failure or clearer than sorrow.And in the tiny precious wisdom that they give us even those dreaded and hated enemies sufferings and failures have their own reason and right to be-David Gregory Roberts, Shantaram.

And I tag Freakyveggie,Pseudomonaz,Visha,OHW and nirvana. Would love to hear more about you guys!!

9 thoughts on “Bitter Sweet November

  1. I love your monthly updates! And congratulations on being awarded 🙂
    I share most of the stuff you are grateful and thankful for!

    Gee..I just saw that you have tagged me too…many many thanks 🙂

    • Hi Visha, Am really sorry re.. That am replying this comment so late…So much similarities? 🙂 Yay !! You always bring so much cheer with your words..Will keep posting for sure!

  2. What a wonderful idea, to write about things you are thankful for. Loved reading all of them and it gave me something to chew upon as well.

    Congratulations on the award!

    • Thanks comfy!! Ahem..sometimes we look too keenly into the single black dot in our life..I keep in mind to come back to this page now and then during my mood swings.That is y I pen them down..Positive reinforcement!

Leave a Reply

